Landeshauptstadt Dresden - 05.09.2019 14:28:25 Uhr 08.04.2020 14:45:31 Uhr
© Photo (SAMPLE): Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat

Residence permits

Nationals of EU countries as well as of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland do not require a residence permit for entry and residence in Germany.

All other foreigners - persons from so-called third countries - are generally required to hold a visa or residence permit. The term "residence permit" covers the following categories in German residence law:

  • Limited residence permit
  • Permanent residence permit.

Each residence permit contains a so-called secondary provision that regulates the extent to which you are permitted to engage in gainful employment (self-employment or dependent employment).